The Board, Organisational Structure

The Board

ASANRA is governed by a board of directors which meets twice in a year and has ultimate responsibility on governance of the association. Each member state is represented by the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) or relevant government official where a roads agency or authority was not constituted. Representatives of regional bodies established in line with the SADC protocol on Transport, Communication and Meteorology attend board meetings in an ex-official capacity. The board is chaired by an elected president.

Organisational Structure

The board delegates management to an Executive Committee comprising the president, vice-president and the Chief Executive Officer of the Malawi Road Authority where ASANRA secretariat is based. Currently, the Chairman is the Director of Roads Department, Botswana  and Vice Chairman is the Chief Executive Officer  of Tanzania National Roads Agency (TANROADS).

ASANRA implements programmes through the following six Standing Committees:

  • Network Management and Financing;
  • Construction and Maintenance;
  • Materials and Design Standards;
  • Road Safety;
  • Research and Development and;
  • Technology Transfer and Capacity Building.

The Chairpersons of the Standing Committees are the CEOs of a member roads agency and are appointed by the President. Under the general direction of the Executive Director and the day-to-day supervision of the Programmes Officer, their main function is to develop their committee’s Work Programme in consultation with their constituents and stakeholders for the approval of the Board.